Ken Mason has been leading the way in providing quality Windows and Doors, Spray Foam Insulation & Tinting for over 30 years! We are a family owned business & use the highest quality manufactures in the industry. At Ken Mason we will ensure you the best service, guaranteed workmanship & peace of mind. We offer free Quotes & Consultation and 0 Pa read more...
We will never allow businesses to pay for review alterations, editing, or removals. Published reviews have undergone strict examination to avoid fraudulent/fake review posting. Learn more.
Horrible - Don't use these guys!!!
Stay away from this company! They're absolutely horrible. Not only were his guys absolute slobs but they had no clue what they were doing! I have gaping holes in my flashing/capping and one of my windows actually has a whole in the brand new window! I called a previous window company I used prior to using Ken Mason (I wish i would've just used them in the first place) and she came in and the first thing she said when she walked up to my door is "What happened to your windows!?" I had a meeting with Bob on site at my house after getting a hold of him (by the way the only way he would come out to my house is if I removed my first review) and he thought that the job his guys did was good and was only willing to fix a couple of the windows (capping). To be honest while he was there he made me feel like the issues were my fault and I basically felt like I was being blamed for their shady installation. I also would like to point out that two of the larger windows I had installed in our back laundry room were not measured correctly. Instead of going smaller with the window he decided to go with a bigger window and his guys had no clue how to install them properly. I am very disgusted with this company and how they handle things.
After all is said and done i'm now out an extra $2,000 to have the capping and flashing fixed by a reputable company whom I trust.
Thanks for nothing Ken Mason!
Stay away from these guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Further to Mr.Elliott response - Your guys did a poor job of their final walk through as there was materials left around the house to which I had to bring back to you. As for the no issues bring brought to your attention there definately was an issue brought to both your workers attention and your attention in regards to the way they were doing the capping. My fiance advised the gentleman who was doing the capping that it was incorrect and needed to be done the proper way. Yes I agree my fiance may of gone around it the wrong way however I believe your guy got upset and did a pretty poor job because he was told he was doing it wrong!
Upon our meeting on February 16th you basically made me feel as though I was in the wrong and the quality of work you performed was up to par - at this point I was over it and just wanted to go about my day and let you ramble on. I did not want you going in my house because you obviously saw no issues with the way the capping was done outside so why even bother with the inside?
I do not have any trust with your company that it's going to be fixed properly so hence my email response stating that I did not want Ken Mason back to fix any of the deficiencies.
Maybe you guys should more time focusing on your projects and the quality of them and maybe you wouldn't have so many negative reviews.
KEN Mason Insulation would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced as a result of the recent window installation at your home. Our company strives to ensure that our customers are satisfied with our work both during and when completed.
At the completion of any job, one of the workers does a walk through to ensure that all debris has been picked up and the site is clean. During the 4 days the workers were onsite at your place, there were no issues brought forward.
On February 12th, 2020, you sent an email outlining some issues that were noted with the window installation completed at your residence early December 2019. At the same time you sent the email, you also posted an unsatisfactory rating with Trusted Pros not allowing any time for KEN Mason to address your concerns.
Within a day of receipt of your email, you were contacted by phone to discuss and schedule a meeting so that all the deficiencies could be reviewed and a mutual resolution agreed upon.
During the meeting the week of February 16th, a complete walk around of the outside of your home was conducted and notes were taken of all external deficiencies you pointed out. A review of the interior work was requested but DENIED as you stated Everything is fine, you do not have to go inside .
At this meeting, it was discussed that within the next couple of weeks, someone would contact you to schedule a convenient date and time to come and correct all deficiencies, at no extra cost to you. Before that could be completed, you sent another email indicating you no longer wished to have KEN Mason Insulation correct the deficiencies.
We are deeply sorry that you have chosen not to allow us the opportunity to resolve these issues.
Should you wish to discuss further, please don t hesitate to contact Mr. Elliott at 905-541-0146.
Response to Homeowner:
In regards to our walk through, yes, you are correct, we did leave 2 containers of foam behind which you gave to one of the workers when they returned to your home for payment.
When homeowners are having work completed, it is not unusual that questions arise regarding the progress of the work but KEN Mason workers are committed to completing the job with the upmost quality. Unfortunately, unforeseen issues may arise once the work begins, such as rotten window frames, and installation decisions have to be made. This does not necessarily mean that incorrect measurements were made.
Our apologies for how you indicated you felt during the meeting on February 16th, it certainly was not meant to go that way. Notes were taken regarding the deficiencies and an agreement reached for KEN Mason to come back and correct at No extra cost to you.
Thank you for adding the pictures. The external pictures show the discrepancies we agreed to correct and in defense to the internal ones, as you stated, Everything is fine, you do not need to go inside .
As indicated, you do not have trust in KEN Mason but you do have another company that you have previously worked with. Again KEN Mason is sincerely sorry for not being given the opportunity to correct the issues but respect your decision.
As mentioned previously, should you wish to discuss further, please don t hesitate to contact Mr. Elliott at 905-541-0146.
The Ken Mason team installed windows though out our house last January. Although the windows are of decent quality I cannot say the same about the installation and finishing job these folks did.
Firstly, in order to install the windows in the rear of the house they actually cut away part of my backyard deck. Really? Maybe we could have disassembled part of it but not it was sozalled away forever. They didn't even ask.
What a mess. It took forever to clean up the yard after their work on the outside. On the inside the team left their tools and coats in the middle of the hallway or floor or wherever.
Broke the old window and left the pile of glass on the floor in front of my fridge. Very unprofessional.
Some of the windows capping slopes into the house. Front window and kitchen so when it rains the water comes "into the house" rather than away from the house.
We've called them several times on this. They promise to fix it but never show up. Almost a year now.
KEN Mason Insulation would like to apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during the time of the window installation at your home. Our company strives to ensure that our customers are satisfied with our work both during and when completed.
At the time the installation of the one basement window located under the deck was completed, the homeowner was not on site. The decision on how to install the window was made so the least amount of decking would be removed and possible damage to the deck averted. The amount of wood removed from under the deck, would in no way compromise the deck s safety nor would it be visible from the deck s surface.
Unfortunately, this job was completed in January when the weather is unpredictable and there was approximately 4-5 inches of snow already on the ground. At completion of the job, the workers cleaned up to the best of their ability and they actually returned at a later date to retrieve any debris that was missed. Our apology for any subsequent debris missed and for your inconvenience.
As it was wintertime, coats are necessary for outside work. While inside work is being completed the coats are removed. Our apology if the coat placement caused any inconvenience. We most certainly would have removed and placed them in a more convenient place at your direction.
At the completion of any job, one of the workers does a walk through to ensure that all debris has been picked up and the site is clean. Unfortunately, the broken glass must have been missed and we apologize.
The owner did contact Mr. Elliott on two occasions but he was not able to discuss the situation at the time of the call and requested the owner call back in the morning. There was no follow through by either party regarding further contact.
It should be noted that since the colour of the window capping was changed and therefore different from that around the garage door, KEN Mason Insulation capped the garage at no charge to the customer, a savings to the customer of approximately $400.00.
Please feel free to contact Mr. Elliott at 905-541-0146 to discuss for possible resolution of any outstanding issues.
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY.
Insulation job was half done.tookk 2 weeks to come back to finish, after 10 phone calls.
Ken suggested I instead tear the plaster and lath off after the kitchen reno is 3/4 done...and then said i should have supervised his guys...
Im a contractor. I know how to do good work and address customer concerns.
Left oil on the driveway from the compressor.
His guys had to borrow my drill bits.
Bought 20+ cans of foam to try and finish this job
This company is a fuster cluck.
A follow up to my previous review
Ken never visited the site, despite my requests. When I asked him to return his line was "call me next week". This occurred several times so I had to call probably 6 or 7 times before finally getting a firm date. So how he thinks it was 400 ft2 when he never was there…So they did 90%??? More like 60% of 300ft2
There were no cross members in the wall. The voids were large simply because inadequate holes or insufficient insulation was blown in.
His suggestion to remove the walls so that the insulation could be more easily installed is rather stupid. If I wanted to do this I could have simply put in batt insulation for lower cost. And this is 3 weeks into a kitchen reno job, when the base cupboards are already installed, and the customer is doing dishes in their bathtub.
So I took him to small claims court, where we agreed on a settlement. Now 3 weeks later he is refusing to pay the settlement that he proposed, I accepted and we both signed.
Are you going to pay? I ask…”Stop hassling me. Do what you gotta do” he answers.
As to my not staying around while they finished the job, that is true….but you can’t really inspect foam behind a wall…it’s only when you drill more holes and prod to see if the insulation is there do you find out the job wasn’t done right---again. And it is not the customer’s responsibility to make sure the job is done right…it’s the person doing the work who is expected to know what they’re doing.
To round out the picture some more, not only where their drill bits so dull they were smoking, they didn’t even have a chuck key to change the drill bits. And they didn’t fill the holes they drilled with drywall compound…and the equipment leaked oil on the driveway.
We'd like to apologize for your recent experience with us, and sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our customer service. We will be following up with staff, and addressing the concerns you've brought to our attention.
In regards to your review, we would like to discuss how the transaction went from our side, and respond to the issues you've raised. We have been in business for 35 years, with an A+ rating with the BBB, and take your concern very seriously.
Whenever we start a project with a client, we ask that they are present at the end of the job, to ensure our work is up to their standards. The second time we came back, we asked you to stay, and you did indeed leave before the end of the job. A customer staying on-site is imperative for us to resolve any issues or concerns should they arise.
As to your drill bits, we did not ask to borrow them from you, but they were offered to our staff by you for the remaining 10 holes in the wall.
When we discussed your concerns on the phone, we stated that we would come back to do whatever is necessary when we are in the area. When doing an injection foam, the holes are 3'8" in diameter, and if there are any cross members in the wall (which older homes may have, as they were built before homes started having beams placed 16" apart), it makes it nearly impossible to completely fill. We suggested that we would come and insulate the wall for free to resolve your concerns (at a cost to us, however it would require taking the wall down to fill those cross sections).
On our second call, you began to use vulgar language, and that is why we ended the call.
The total job was 400 sq. ft, we did 90% of the space.
Thank you for your feedback, and our sincerest apologies again.
We hired Ken Mason to install 4 windows on the recommendation of our neighbour who had used them on 2 occasions without issues. We did not have the same experience. They were unprofessional and inexperienced when doing the work. They used are furniture as work benches (even after we moved most of the furniture out of the way for them), only cleaned up the inside of the house and left before fully finishing the job. We couldn’t believe that 3 of the 4 brand new windows had worse drafts coming from them then the 50-year-old windows they replaced and the outside trim (on one window specifically) looked like it was the installers first day on the job. We complained about this and they sent a better employee over (who just showed up unexpected one day) and fixed most of the drafts and said he’ll come back when he has a taller ladder. That was 6 months ago and nobody returns my phone calls or emails. The worst part of this whole experience is that they weren’t even the cheapest quote we got for the 4 windows.
The only good thing we can say is the the actual windows are really nice and easy to clean. But I would never recommend anybody to get work done on their house by this company.
Ken Mason Insulation has a TrustScore™ of 1.3. The average TrustScore™ for other businesses providing similar services in Hamilton and the surrounding areas is 2.8. For detailed information on how TrustScore is calculated, click here.
The following elements are used to calculate TrustScore:
|Customer Reviews||Last 12 Months||All Time|
|Complaints Received||Last 12 Months||Last 3 Years|
|Suppliers & Creditors||0||0|
|Employees & Sub-Contractors||0||0|
|Posted License Information||Not yet provided|
|Posted Liability Insurance||Not yet provided|
|Posted Workers Compensation||Not yet provided|
|Social Media Profiles||Not yet provided|
|Endorsed by Peers||Not yet endorsed|
|In Business Since||1978|
|Member of TrustedPros Since||2011|
TrustedPros does not validate certain information provided by contractors and vendors in conjunction with the creation or maintenance of their profile and we cannot endorse or guarantee the performance of any contractor. TrustScores are provided for informational purposes only. We urge you to use the TrustScore™ in conjunction with the tips provided in our Hiring Guide to maximize the probability of hiring the best professional for you project.
Ken Mason has been leading the way in providing quality Windows and Doors, Spray Foam Insulation & Tinting for over 30 years! We are a family owned business & use the highest quality manufactures in the industry. At Ken Mason we will ensure you the best service, guaranteed workmanship & peace of mind. We offer free Quotes & Consultation and 0 Payment & Financing Options O.A.C.
|Main contact(s)||Rob Elliott|
|Listed with TrustedPros since:||2011|
|Warranty||Warranty details not yet provided|
|Accepts credit cards||Yes|
|24 Hour emergency service||No|
|Licensing information||Contact Ken Mason Insulation to request licensing info.|
|Insurance information||Contact Ken Mason Insulation to request insurance details.|
Check local laws pertaining to license requirements and verify license and insurance details provided by the contractor prior to hiring.