Put beautiful hardwood floors in your home with Legacy Custom Floors. We started our company specializing in hardwood flooring - we have since put together an experienced crew that covers all of your flooring needs inc. tile, carpet, vinyl. we assist our clients in finding and installing the perfect product for their budget. We provide beautiful read more...
We will never allow businesses to pay for review alterations, editing, or removals. Published reviews have undergone strict examination to avoid fraudulent/fake review posting. Learn more.
Max and his team are outstanding flooring professionals. Max was super helpful explaining our options for best outcomes and we ended up going with a laminate (wood-like appearance) that has really updated the look of our townhome. They were on schedule and budget, and had clear communication throughout. A definite pleasure to work with. We'd recommend Legacy Custom Floors anytime!
We hired Legacy Custom Floors to tile our kitchen floors and install back splash, as well as install wood lips where the tile and hardwood meet. We also hired them to install a mosaic niche in our bathroom.
1) Kitchen floor tile was installed uneven - we are at risk of our tiles cracking, as they now make a squeaking noise when we walk on some of them. The grout is already beginning to crack.
2) Grout was installed poorly. The grout is cracking, the colour of the grout in the kitchen does not match the rest of the tile installed in the house.
3) Niche in the bathroom was installed poorly. The tile metal edging is too thin, the tile sticks out instead of being neatly covered up. The niche needs to be removed and replaced.
4) The tiler broke and wasted several pieces of tile (approx 1-2 boxes). We had budged 10% waste, we ended up having to use tile that was supposed to be used in our basement to complete our kitchen.
5) ) Initial quote was much lower than what was charged once the work was completed. The work quoted was not completed! We stopped them from grouting the bathroom niche as the work done in the kitchen was poor. They did not put in a "lip" where the tile and hardwood meet. They did not install the back splash in the kitchen either.
7) They deducted $250 for 40sqt of mosaic back splash, which they did not complete from their final invoice. We had another tile company install the back splash - which came up to $750! They were trying to recoup as much of the original invoice (that quoted all of the work completed) by disproportionately reducing the cost of work that had not been completed.
6) Max Campbell - the owner, sent a inexperienced tiler to complete the work. When we complained he did not taken our complaints seriously, rather he insisted the tiler was not at fault. Max did not ONCE come to our home to inspect the poorly done work once it was completed. He continuously harassed us for payment. We called around for advice from other tile companies which advised us to remove the tile installed and discussed how poorly the work was done. Costing us time and money.
TERRIBLE! They will cost you time, money and leave you with an awful, uneven floor that will eventually crack! DO NOT RECOMMEND.
A few final points to be made about the "rebuttal"
1) There was only one area of the floor that was uneven. YOU CHARGED US for "repair work" and membrane work to fix any issues that may arise from the sub-floor. The tile was laid down poorly. We have had 2 other tile/hardware floor companies that advised us that we should not have paid for the work done as it was done in very very poor fashion.
2) YOU NEVER SAW THE WORK! You subcontracted the work to a tiler you just met. I spoke to him. He barely knew you. Yet you still "stood by his work". Even though you never saw it or have never seen his finished work in the past.
3) The grout colour was fine when it was wet. It matched the rest of our tiled floors. Once it dried it was a completely different colour. We decided to "be happy" with the repair work because the alternative would have been to waste thousands of dollars ripping it out and replacing it. As well as putting our project behind when we had other contractors coming in to finish the rest of our kitchen. We REGRET not ripping it out. It would have saved a lot of trouble going forward and costs that we will incur - as advised by other professional tiling companies.
4) As for the Mosaic in the bathroom - after wasting our tile and time, we did not want your company to provide any more shitty "repair work"
5) The invoice did not reflect accurately the work that was done. As I mentioned, you tired to chalk up the kitchen back splash to be $250 of the original quote, which ended up costing $750. You were trying to recoup the original quote, regardless of the work that was done and not done. You had a number in your mind and intended on making that amount.
6) Assess the problem by A) Never showing up to see what the problems were, and B) pushing blame on us and telling us we dont know what we are talking about
7) We paid you regardless of the awful work that was done. We needed time to assess the damage and the cost of fixing the tile work that has been done by other professional tiling companies.
We sincerely regret allowing you to work on the floors as we have had several other professionals come through and comment on how poorly the flooring has been done.
Tile is very hard to remove once installed. I posted this to warn others of a terrible job that was done. I stand by my words, just as much as you stood by your "guys".
I am sorry to hear you are so unhappy with us. Please see below for the answers to all of your concerns.
1. The reason for the tiles being uneven on this project is because you decided to try and save costs by doing the leveling yourself and we clearly discussed that the floor would be out of line to which you agreed, and advised us to go ahead with the project knowing of its condition - I also mentioned I could not warranty the work because of this. As mentioned, we did both agree with each other that the floor would be "uneven" and you were fine with this and asked us to proceed forward after my word of caution.
As for your tiles squeaking - tiles do not squeak. The squeaking would be a result of your subfloor. As you insisted on preparing the subfloor yourself to save money, this is your responsibility entirely - as I mentioned, I cannot warranty a project where an inexperienced person prepares their own sub floor, for these reasons exactly.
2. The grout was not installed poorly, it was installed correctly and in the colour you agreed upon which was actually complemented by yourself, as you will see in the picture attached (Pic B). If the grout is cracking it is, once again, due to the inadequate subfloor you prepared, in turn resulting in an uneven installation this is why I could not warranty the work. With regards to your concern about our poor customer service, I will first say that I apologize you feel this way - I did respond promptly to all phone calls and messages, I also sent my installer to the job to do a full repair of the uneven tiles free of charge. In addition, we clearly asked if you were happy with the repair, your reply was that you were happy and to please continue forward with grouting the floor - you will see this response found in (Pic B) attached below.
3. Please recall that we immediately addressed your concerns regarding the niche and bathroom installation. We requested you send us a picture so we could assess it. We then apologized and said we would remove this work from the invoice as it was not performed correctly - I make this point to address your concern relating to our customer service - please see (Pic B) as reference, attached below.
4. We apologize for using extra tile for the repair that we performed free of charge - In our discussion related to the final invoice you will see that the wasted tile was reduced from our invoice, therefore it did not negatively impact your budget.
5. The estimated price only changed in the final invoice to reflect the discounts given to account for your concerns and we even further discounted our invoiced amount to what you requested.
6. We do hire new installers as we do have many loyal customers providing us with a lot of work and a busy schedule - Not every new hire is the correct hire but we have used this installer before with no problems. I did discuss with you that I would speak with our installer and ask him why he struggled with certain areas of the project. In addition to this we gave a very large discount (and even further discounted the invoice at your request). This is the best I can do as a business owner - assess the problem, discuss with my clients and employees, and come up with a solution. He is not with our company any more.
I most definitely did take your complaints seriously and tended to all issues to the best of our abilities in a timely manor - I insisted the tiler was not at fault when I tried to explain why the lines on your floor did not match up perfectly. If you draw a line on a piece of paper and bend that piece of paper (resembling an uneven surface) you will find the line is no longer straight -this is the point I was trying to make - being that it was the uneven subfloor and not the installer who installed on top of it.
In terms of your comments regarding us harassing you for payment - I asked you a total of 3 times over a 44 day period. In a very friendly manner.
Legacy Custom Floors has a TrustScore™ of 4.0. The average TrustScore™ for other businesses providing similar services in Vancouver and the surrounding areas is 3.1. For detailed information on how TrustScore is calculated, click here.
The following elements are used to calculate TrustScore:
|Customer Reviews||Last 12 Months||All Time|
|Complaints Received||Last 12 Months||Last 3 Years|
|Suppliers & Creditors||0||0|
|Employees & Sub-Contractors||0||0|
|Posted License Information||Available upon request|
|Posted Liability Insurance||Yes|
|Posted Workers Compensation||Yes|
|Social Media Profiles||Not yet provided|
|Endorsed by Peers||Not yet endorsed|
|In Business Since||2012|
|Member of TrustedPros Since||2013|
TrustedPros does not validate certain information provided by contractors and vendors in conjunction with the creation or maintenance of their profile and we cannot endorse or guarantee the performance of any contractor. TrustScores are provided for informational purposes only. We urge you to use the TrustScore™ in conjunction with the tips provided in our Hiring Guide to maximize the probability of hiring the best professional for you project.
We help our clients pick the perfect hardwood flooring product for their home, whether that is a site finished or pre finished product, laminate, engineered, solid etc. Our team of installer are all trained in house and have a min 10 years exp.
We install and provide all types of carpet. We come equipped with a team of carpeting professionals who do a job well done every time with min 10 years experience.
We install and provide all types of tile. We come equipped with a team of tiling professionals who do a job well done every time with min 10 years experience.
Our floor refinishing consists of taping off all areas for dust protection, precision sanding with market leading machinery and vacuums for dust protection, custom stains, and the resources to choose from a wide range of floor finishing products to make sure we provide the look you strive for.
Put beautiful hardwood floors in your home with Legacy Custom Floors.
We started our company specializing in hardwood flooring - we have since put together an experienced crew that covers all of your flooring needs inc. tile, carpet, vinyl. we assist our clients in finding and installing the perfect product for their budget. We provide beautiful work & a very professional crew throughout the project. Proudly offering the most competitive rates in the market, we are sure to impress you with our finished product. Our work is guaranteed, reliable and finished on schedule.
*Guaranteed clean worksite
*Recycle all plastic products
*ALWAYS respecting the homes of others
*Practicing the latest in dust containment
Legacy Custom Floors was awarded Best of TrustedPros in 2014 for Flooring and Floor Refinishing in Vancouver.
|Main contact(s)||Max Campbell|
|Alternate Phone Numbers||778-997-9625, 250-863-0990|
|Listed with TrustedPros since:||2013|
|Warranty||Warranty for workmanship related deficiencies are within a 1 year time period. Anything outside of this timeframe would not be covered under workmanship warranty. Any material related concerns do not fall within our workmanship warranty.|
|Accepts credit cards||No|
|24 Hour emergency service||No|
|Licensing information||Licensing information available upon request|
Check local laws pertaining to license requirements and verify license and insurance details provided by the contractor prior to hiring.