Categories

Home Improvements

Ask questions or search for specific information in the Home Improvements section.

Have a question about a home improvement project? This section is a grab bag for general home improvement questions ranging from repairing trim to managing cost overruns and everything in between. Find your topic using the handy search button or simply browse the threads.

Can't find the answer you're looking for? Post your question and let our helpful contractor pros provide you with their opinions and advice.

Post a Question:

Recent Discussions
Basement framing

I live in Winnipeg and own a bungalow. I am an apprentice within the Interior Systems Mechanic trade and love doing renovations. With my house, my basement is unfinished but there are walls framed. They...

Number of Responses 4 Date of Last Post March 7, 2012
Hardwood Floor

I am looking to have the carpet in my house ripped up and replaced with hardwood to help with my son's allergies. The house is 2400 square feet, obviously not all is carpet. Is there a ball park cost ...

Number of Responses 3 Date of Last Post March 6, 2012
Fireplace renovation

I have an ugly brick fireplace with a very large hearth. I would like to remove the hearth (I have enough hardwood to fill in the area) and resurface the brick on the rest of the fireplace. What are ...

Number of Responses 2 Date of Last Post August 6, 2015
Slab foundation on a 4 ft. footing

Hi, I might be purchasing a home in Bowmanville, it's an 8yr old raised bungalow, it sits on a six inch poured salb with a 4 ft deep footing underneath. The house is on a bit of a hill and ...

Number of Responses 3 Date of Last Post March 6, 2012
Cement between houses with zero property line

Am I able to put a cement pad in-between my house and the neighbours hous?. It is zero property line. Just not sure of the regulations. Thanks you....

Number of Responses 3 Date of Last Post February 29, 2012
Parging